Paalam, Michael Jackson

michael_jackson_thrillerWe take a break from our usual OFW fare to bade our goodbye to a music icon that has “probably” part of our teenage years (and i’m referring to the 80’s teenagers).

My first memory of Michael Jackson is from the haunting lyrics of “Ben”. I loved this song and so are some Bisdaks, considering the stories sent to radio programs using “Ben” as the music.

In fact, when i was young (so much younger than today), my Auntie Menang encouraged me to join an amateur singing contest and she wanted me to sing “Ben”. But the high notes i can’t make, so i ended up with Rico J’s “Kapalaran”.

I was in High School when my friend Luel Yukoya showed his Thriller LP sent by his “Tate” cousins. And when the Thriller MTV hit the Philippines, our school arranged for a showing of the MTV in the AV hall. Every Saturday and Sunday, i would be glued to our b/w TV waiting for the MTV program to feature music videos of Michael Jackson.

But good things never last. And so we bade farewell to our friend and idol – Michael Jackson…

“My heart is heavy because my idol died,” said Byron Garcia, security consultant at a Philippine prison who organized the famous video of 1,500 inmates synchronized dancing to “Thriller.” The video has had 23.4 million hits on YouTube.

Garcia said the inmates in Cebu will hold a tribute for Jackson on Saturday with their “Thriller” dance and a minute of prayer. http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/michael_jackson_world_reax

Today, Lagos Classic FM is playing a whole day tribute to Micheal Jackson.

But i will pick the lines from Paul Anka’s “My Way”, to say goodbye to MJ:

And now the end is near
And so I face the final curtain,
My friends, I’ll say it clear,
I’ll state my case of which I’m certain.
I’ve lived a life that’s full, I’ve travelled each and evr’y highway
And more, much more than this, I did it my way.

One Response to Paalam, Michael Jackson

  1. eventhough he past away, im sure that everybody will not forget him for the contribution he made to arts and because of his songs. 🙂

Leave a Reply

